Council Form of Government

The Chester City of Chester voted to become a Council form of government shortly after Home Rule laws took effect in South Carolina in 1975.  Title 5 of the South Carolina Code of Laws governs municipal government.

Municipalities under the council form of government have either five, seven, or nine members, including a mayor.  The mayor presides over meetings (by tradition), performs ceremonial duties, calls special meetings, designates a temporary judge, and acts and votes as a member of council.